So 2010 is coming to an end in a few days and many great games have came out over the past 12 months.
These are my picks for favourite Wii games of the Year:
Favourite Platformer of the year:
This was a really hard category to pick for, so many great platformers came out for the wii and it was just really diffcult to pick a favourite.
I chose the game Donkey Kong Country Returns, Why? Because it was just what gamers had been yearning for, another hard as nails platformer that brings nostalgic memories and at the same time, brings something new to the table. I seriously reccomend that you check this out.
Runners up: Super Mario Galaxy 2, Kirby's Epic Yarn
Favourite Action/Adventure of the year
Another tough category to choose from, but i think No More Heroes 2 deserves this award. Being one of the most stylish games i have played since, well ,ever, No more Heroes seemed to me like the a love letter to any one who has ever picked a controller up. I loved the humor in this game and the graphical style was awesome. I was slightly dissapointed with the lack of the 51 boss fights, but the amount of substance in the game was still very enjoyable.
Runners up: Metroid: Other M, Monster Hunter Tri
Favourite Licensed game:
This was a really easy choice since it was a really enjoyable romp through the 007 world. Of course i mean GoldenEye on the wii. After being a fan of the N64 classic all those years ago, my eyes instantly rolled when i heard news of a remake, i really expected this to be MEH. Well it wasn't and i am glad to see that the classic was not ruined.
Runnners Up: Spiderman: Shattered dimensions, Prince of Persia: forgotton sands
Favourite Shooter of the year:
When i say shooter, i mean anything with a gun or shooting aspect. For me this year, i have to pick Red Steel 2. I hated the original red steel, i expected to hate this. After picking this up with Motion plus for a very reasonable £16 i immediately went into this game with a cynical mind. This was awesome. I loved the combat, the shooting, the 1:1 controls. Everything about it was just fantastic, seriously i couldn't have expected more. Well maybe in the story department i could of, but it was still fun to be a ninja cowboy.
Runners Up: GoldenEye, Sin and punishment 2, Black Ops
Biggest Dissapointment of the year:
Metroid: Other M. I really expected nothing less than epic with this game, team ninja + nintendo = Not this. This should have been way better. Now i'm all for the controls, but seriously did we have to shift to first person mode in combat. This mechanic just destroyed some parts of the game for me and i actually stopped playing it for a while because of one room and venus fly traps. Now i'm not saying i hated the game, i liked it. But it could have been wayyyyyy better. The style was nice adn i thought the story and take on samus was cool. I hated samus' voice but everyone elses was fine. Oh and don't forget about the gamebreaking glitch that nintendo can't fix easilly.
Runners Up: Eldar saga, Guitar Hero WoR.
Best Fighter:
This is easy, Tatsunoku vs Capcom. A similar fray to one of my favourite games ever, MvsC. I loved the graphics on this game as they just looked amazing and i couldn't believe this was a wii game at times. My only complaint with this games is the somewhat lack of characters, i expected some more popular characters added in. Online was awesome aswell.
Runners Up: Nope, other fighters were crap.
Best graphics of the year:
Sorry but this had to go to Kirby's epic yarn. I haven't seen a game like this in since yoshis island, and wow does this game have artistic style. I loved the way the world was just a giant land of sewing materials. Just wow.
Runners Up: Red steel 2, TvsC
Best soundtrack of the year:
The best soundtrack for me has to go to kirby's epic yarn. There wasn't much more that caught my eye in terms of the sound department, but this. I loved the way every level seemed like curious george was playing in the background. Hopefully i can get the OST for this soon.
No runners up
Best Music Game:
I'm going to pick rockband 3 for this. I haven't got it, but i have played it extensively with the keyboard and guitar. It's deffinetely got the best track list and the Downloads are amazing. I love this game. The campaign mode is very similar though, which i hated.
Runner up: Guitar hero WoR.
Best story :
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, without a doubt, deserves this award. I was insanely gripped to this game, i ended up playing the whole game in two straight walkthroughs. The story changes depending on your actions, so your playthroughs are typically different. Also i never, ever would have guessed the end. It was intense from start to finish and i will gladly play it again.
Runners Up: FF: Crystal Bearers
Biggest surprise:
Sin and Punishment 2. I expected this game to be a bit meh, but what i got was a bullet hell style third person, human shmup. It reminded me of The original starfox games, and i loved every minute of the beast. I must admit though, this game is hard.
Runners Up: Red Steel 2, Metroid: other M
Crappiest game of the year:
This, with out a shadow of a doubt, goes to..............Doctor Who: Return to Earth.
I have had to desuade so many children from buying this game, if you see a child or anyone with this game, show them the light and point them towards Galaxy 2. This game was just freaking terrible, i hated everything about it. The controller is nice, but what the hell. I shouldn't be paying £40 for a game with with sub PS1 graphics and terrible gameplay. Please make doctor who a cool game.....With cybermen.
Runner Up: Rabbids: Travel in Time.
...And that's it for the wii.
I will be posting up other awards but not as in depth.
Post a comment if you disagree with any.
Thanks for reading. :D
No comments:
Post a Comment