Wednesday, 15 December 2010

My favourite Wii games of 2010!

So 2010 is coming to an end in a few days and many great games have came out over the past 12 months.

These are my picks for favourite Wii games of the Year:

Favourite Platformer of the year:
This was a really hard category to pick for, so many great platformers came out for the wii and it was just really diffcult to pick a favourite. 

I chose the game Donkey Kong Country Returns, Why? Because it was just what gamers had been yearning for, another hard as nails platformer that brings nostalgic memories and at the same time, brings something new to the table. I seriously reccomend that you check this out.

Runners up: Super Mario Galaxy 2, Kirby's Epic Yarn

Favourite Action/Adventure of the year 

Another tough category to choose from, but i think No More Heroes 2 deserves this award. Being one of the most stylish games i have played since, well ,ever, No more Heroes seemed to me like the a love letter to any one who has ever picked a controller up. I loved the humor in this game and the graphical style was awesome. I was slightly dissapointed with the lack of the 51 boss fights, but the amount of substance in the game was still very enjoyable.

Runners up:  Metroid: Other M, Monster Hunter Tri


Favourite Licensed game:

This was a really easy choice since it was a really enjoyable romp through the 007 world.  Of course i mean GoldenEye on the wii. After being a fan of the N64 classic all those years ago, my eyes instantly rolled when i heard news of a remake, i really expected this to be MEH. Well it wasn't and i am glad to see that the classic was not ruined.

Runnners Up:  Spiderman: Shattered dimensions, Prince of Persia: forgotton sands


Favourite Shooter of the year:

When i say shooter, i mean anything with a gun or shooting aspect. For me this year, i have to pick Red Steel 2. I hated the original red steel, i expected to hate this. After picking this up with Motion plus for a very reasonable £16 i immediately went into this game with a cynical mind. This was awesome. I loved the combat, the shooting, the 1:1 controls. Everything about it was just fantastic, seriously i couldn't have expected more. Well maybe in the story department i could of, but it was still fun to be a ninja cowboy.

Runners Up: GoldenEye, Sin and punishment 2, Black Ops


Biggest Dissapointment of the year:

Metroid: Other M. I really expected nothing less than epic with this game, team ninja + nintendo = Not this. This should have been way better. Now i'm all for the controls, but seriously did we have to shift to first person mode in combat. This mechanic just destroyed some parts of the game for me and i actually stopped playing it for a while because of one room and venus fly traps. Now i'm not saying i hated the game, i liked it. But it could have been wayyyyyy better. The style was nice adn i thought the story and take on samus was cool. I hated samus' voice but everyone elses was fine. Oh and don't forget about the gamebreaking glitch that nintendo can't fix easilly.

Runners Up: Eldar saga, Guitar Hero WoR.


Best Fighter:

This is easy, Tatsunoku vs Capcom. A similar fray to one of my favourite games ever, MvsC. I loved the graphics on this game as they just looked amazing and i couldn't believe this was a wii game at times. My only complaint with this games is the somewhat lack of characters, i expected some more popular characters added in. Online was awesome aswell.

Runners Up: Nope, other fighters were crap.


Best graphics of the year:

Sorry but this had to go to Kirby's epic yarn. I haven't seen a game like this in since yoshis island, and wow does this game have artistic style. I loved the way the world was just a giant land of sewing materials. Just wow. 

Runners Up: Red steel 2, TvsC


Best soundtrack of the year:

The best soundtrack for me has to go to kirby's epic yarn. There wasn't much more that caught my eye in terms of the sound department, but this. I loved the way every level seemed like curious george was playing in the background. Hopefully i can get the OST for this soon.

No runners up


Best Music Game:

I'm going to pick rockband 3 for this. I haven't got it, but i have played it extensively with the keyboard and guitar. It's deffinetely got the best track list and the Downloads are amazing. I love this game. The campaign mode is very similar though, which i hated.

Runner up: Guitar hero WoR.

Best story :

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, without a doubt, deserves this award. I was insanely gripped to this game, i ended up playing the whole game in two straight walkthroughs. The story changes depending on your actions, so your playthroughs are typically different. Also i never, ever would have guessed the end. It was intense from start to finish and i will gladly play it again.

Runners Up: FF: Crystal Bearers

Biggest surprise:

Sin and Punishment 2. I expected this game to be a bit meh, but what i got was a bullet hell style third person, human shmup. It reminded me of The original starfox games, and i loved every minute of the beast. I must admit though, this game is hard.

Runners Up: Red Steel 2, Metroid: other M

Crappiest game of the year:

This, with out a shadow of a doubt, goes to..............Doctor Who: Return to Earth.
I have had to desuade so many children from buying this game, if you see a child or anyone with this game, show them the light and point them towards Galaxy 2. This game was just freaking terrible, i hated everything about it. The controller is nice, but what the hell. I shouldn't be paying £40 for a game with with sub PS1 graphics and terrible gameplay. Please make doctor who a cool game.....With cybermen.

Runner Up: Rabbids: Travel in Time.


...And that's it for the wii.

I will be posting up other awards but not as in depth. 
Post a comment if you disagree with any.
Thanks for reading. :D

Sunday, 12 December 2010

Christmas soon!!! :D

Christmas is looking awesome this year. Looking to get a PS3, so that should be cool :D.

I will be posting more reviews and stuff soon.

Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Could be classics?

I am a bit of a fan boy and a major nerd, i collect a lot of games and memorabillia and stuff. A thing that caught my attention is that a lot of my gamecube games, ps2 games and xbox games are for still selling for high amounts despite their age. One of these for example would be metal gear the twin snakes on the gamecube, this retails one ebay for higher than a usual wii, ps3 or 360 game. it's really surprising, however it got me thinking though. What games from this generation would end up like this in the future.

It depends on the game, they sell for high prices for two reasons 1) They are still great fun, thus high demand
                                                                                                  2) few copies were made


I would say the wii will have this most as a lot of the funner games made by capcom and nintendo were not released by the bucketload. One of these on the gamecube would be fire emblem : path of radiance. It's an amazing title but still sells for 40-50 quid. that's pretty high.


Here are my predictions of what you should keep hold of:



Wii:  

OKAMI- it wasn't mass produced and is still fun to play, i would reccomend keeping hold of this for playing and the fact it could be worth more than you payed for it in years to come,.

NSMB- Just because it's fun, allthough plenty were made.

Brawl- same as above, great fun, high demand.

Twilight Princess - Really fun to play, and it is first party so it sells well anyway.

Super mario galaxy 1-2 - Great fun

Sam and max season 1 - for some reason it's really hard to find this now, and is a fantastic game, i seriously recommend keeping this.

Metroid prime trilogy - This is actually a limited edition game, they've ceased making this game now unfortunately. so if you have one, don't sell it. (It's a great game anyway)


TO BE FINISHED......

Monday, 21 June 2010

My thoughts on E3 2010

E3 is done now and a lot of decent stuff has been announced (mostly nintendo) but i thought i'd just give my thoughts on this.


Microsoft:

They had some interesting concepts on thee new kinect thing which sounds odly like Knex (which by the way is awesome). I actually liked the kinect thing but it just felt a bit gimicky, even more than the wii's gimick which was genuinely pretty cool. Some good games were anounced but nothing ground breaking. Metal gear rising looks good but that will also appear on other consoles aswell. Fable 3 was also shown and i think that could be pretty darn good.


Microsoft also unveiled there remodeling of the 360 which looks great, but has pretty much given the fnger to everyone who bought a 360, then shelled out for live, then bought the £60 wi-fi thing, the headsets and the 60gb hardrive. The new 360 looks great and includes WI-FI built in with a 120gb hardrive. Something that should have been included from the start.





Looks slick and apparently will be the same price as the elite, which i highly doubt. In all fairness i think the microsoft presentation sucked a lot, as they brought stupid new remodeling, very few first party games, and the natal.



Nintendo:

By far the most well thought out and easilly the best presentation and company at E3.
Nintendo announced a whole new ton of games, but above all that they finally announced the vague 3DS that has been in limbo for a while. they showed us the crazy ass new model with a look at the new analogue stick, 3D slider and a crazy video of people getting OmNomNomed by the console.

ALso they announced some awesome games, including the brand new legend of zelda:skyward sword. This looks pretty much awesome, and is looking to be a cross between wind wakers shell shaded textures and surroundings with a link very similar to twilight princesses link. It looks fine, and a lot of new things have been added: 1-1 motion controls, bomb rolling and SWORD BEAMS. It's shaping up fine and no doubt the game will be awesome on release, and will yet again enthrall millions with it's amazing quality of gaming.



Also revealed was project sora, a game thats been left in video game purgatory for a while now. This ended up being Kid Icarus : Uprising for the 3DS which most likely will be a launch title. It actually looks really good as the graphics on the 3DS could be like the gamecube graphics.
Another bundle of games were shown , including a super cute version of kirby called, kirby's epic yarn Youtube it, it is looking like a classic already. They also showed us the new mario sports mix and wii party. Which look a bit cool and a bit meh respectively.


Playstation:

I never really watched the playstation keynote, bt i saw the new move in action, it looks okish but is terribly over priced and looks really lame. except the fact they unveiled a game featuring sly, ratchet, clank, daxter and jak, all in one game. could be awesome.
Also revealed was portal 2 on the ps3 which actually isn't all that surprising as it could easilly make valve more money.



All in all it was a great E3, and allthough nintendo came away with the win 360 and PS3 owners may have a great few games coming out son aswell.

But the truth is the only thing we can all say right now is that in the next 6 months are wallets will be a lot more lighter.
Games to play before you die: 2) OKAMI


Platform: PS2 and Wii

The game OKAMI is a very underrated one, it unfortunately did terrible in sales despite it's great reviews. This game is definitely worth the wait and surprisingly has a DS follow up coming next year.

You play as a great god named Ametarasu who is for some reason a wolf with psychedelic patterns on its fur that only certain people can see. It is her job to put to rest an ancient evil that has been released from its incarceration, after being defeated by ametarasu's ancestor years ago through the help of a great swords man.
Without giving any spoilers thats the start of the plot. However don't be fooled by this as the game does not end so abruptly.
Along with ametarasu is the descendant of the great Nagi (swordsman) susano who helps you with your quest through out the game. Also along for the ride is issun a traveling poncle who ends up being the navi of this game.



The main point of this game is the celestial brush which acts as a weapon and a puzzle solver all in one, to activate this you press the B button and paint the lines with the wiimote (obviously different for the PS2 version). It takes getting used to at first but after a few uses of it you should get the swing of things. This is implemented very fast and is used a lot during the game, even more than the weapons. It is beautiful to see an origami tree boom with bloom after circling it with the brush. Awesome, just awesome.

The game is very reminiscent of the zelda games and plays very similar, although thats not exactly a bad thing. The gameplay is a sort of cross between a traditional RPG and that of zelda. As fights occur through crossing a traveling demon curtain thing, this activates a battle field and you get to use your weapon and celestial brush.
You get to use things called floral finishers to overkill the enemies after and gain a dragon fang.

The out of battle mechanics are slightly different,as, in the fighting stages shaking the remote would be attack, it is now used as a dash attack which progressively goes faster the longer your running for. This also leaves ametarasu with a giant floral track following her. Jumping is really easy and so is digging, these are mostly just used to find hidden clovers and treasure chests.

All and all this game is plain awesome, and in my opinion definitely one of the best wii games out there. i would even say it could be better than twilight princess but thats just me.
It's really easy to find this game, I found mine for £15 brand new with the special edition sleeve. This is a truly criminaly low price to pay as this game will leave you engrossed and enthralled in it's story for 35 hours plus. So try find this before the new and possibly snazzier okamiden comes out. You seriously won't regret it.







 

Sunday, 20 June 2010

Games to play before you die: 1)

Sonic adventures 2: battle

Format: Gamecube



It hasn't really been a great roll for sonic recently, his neglectful creators have been throwing him out with gimic after gimic. Fair enough sonic colours and sonic 4 look quite nice,but there arent any games in between that are worth playing. Only 25% of sonic unleashed is actually playable and the storybook franchise is just plain rubbish. But anyway as part of my new features i will tell you about games that are old and deserve you recognition.

Anyway if you can't wait for the new, decent looking, sonic games, I highly recommend you go out and get a game called sonic adventures 2 battle. Originally the game was called sonic adventures 2 and was only available for the dreamcast but it is better on the gamecube.
I have had my copy since release, but if you look on ebay or in your local gameshop you should be able to pick this up for easilly less than a fiver.

Firstly the game centers around robotnik's (not eggman, its robotnik sega don't change his name). Anyway again he is trying to steal the chaos emeralds using the help of his new hedgehog sidekick shadow the hedgehog. That's about it really, i don't want to give any spoilers, but it does get really compelling.

The gameplay is great and does have a really good 3D, fast feel that is what sonic games should be like. Sonic speeds quite respectively fast through his few missions and you really get a great sense of satisfaction speeding through a whole level and homing attacking some evil robots in the process. However in this game, similar to the first sonic adventure, you control multiple characters in different missions. These are sonic, tails and knuckles. However the 'Dark Side' of the story sees you playing as shadow, robotnik and rouge the bat.
Through these three different characters come 3 different play styles. Sonic and shadow are just get to the end of the level fast, tails and robotnik have a shooting style mission, rouge and knuckles have a scavenger hunt mission.

The sonic and shadow levels are probably the best as it is the most fun and you don't get bored on the missions as your always running to the end. Unfortunately there was a major problem with the jump mechanic as sometimes sonic's jumps would go crazy and perform his two-jump sequence at once. This was very annoying during one of the bosses as you will see if you play it.

The shooting missions weren't that bad but sometimes they could be frustrating and a bit boring, Also the scavenger missions were ok but when you get stuck on a mission it can be hell.

Another little flaw i had with this game was some of the bosses, as a lot of them were just prison robots and although simple to kill they were really boring. One of the bosses is against a ghost, and unfortunately, this battle drags on and becomes a chore. Despite this though the character vs character boss battles were awesome and great to fight out.

The graphics are pretty good for a gamecube game and improve vastly on its prequel. Textures are good and the lighting is rather good.
Some people say the camera is a bit rubbish but i think its pretty good and doesn't really interfere with gameplay.


This game has a very good musical score in my oppinion, some people don't like it's mix of hip hop, j-pop and rock. Personally i dig it. Most of the games songs are by a band called crush-40 who are to most a mystery. They ae actually a pretty decent band and i must admit if it werent for their music being incorporated into some of the levels then they wouldn't be as memorable. If you can play through this game and not get at least one song stuck in your head, then my god you deserve a medal.

People give this stupidly low scores due to the technical flaws and not on it's fun factor. I reccomend this game, despite it's few flaws there is a lot of fun and replayability in this game and definitely deserves your attention.

Saturday, 16 January 2010

unrelated audio, the BARACK OBAMA 'yes we can!' speech with just a bit of mario

haha i found this funny, so try it for yourselves.



there you go enjoy :]

also subscribe ill be posting more soon:D